#PHOTOS: Sanwo-Olu; Buratai, Wigwe & Others At The Lagos City Marathon On Saturday

Written by on February 10, 2020

Long-distance athletes from both home and abroad registered their presence at the just concluded 2020 Lagos City Marathon held on Saturday.

L-R: Group Managing Director of Access Bank, Mr. Herbert Wigwe; 2nd Prize winner Male category, Debeko Dakamo from Ethopia; 1st Prize winner, David Bamasai Tumo from Kenya; Lagos Sate Governor, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu and the 3rd Prize winner, Paul Waweru Chege from Kenya 

The race, which kicked off in the early hours of Saturday at the National Stadium, Surulere, took participants through the Lekki roundabout by the Ikoyi-Lekki link bridge up to the Eko Atlantic City, Victoria Island, which was the finishing point.

In the men’s category, Kenya’s David Barmasai Tumo came first after breaking the Marathon’s record finishing after two hours, 10 minutes and 23 seconds at the fifth Edition.

Also, Kenya’s Cherop Sharon Jemutai became the first female to cross to finish line, while Kebene Urisa came second and Tanui Jekporir emerged third in the female category.

The first, second and third positions went home with the cash prizes of $50,000; $40,000 and $30,000 respectively.

Meanwhile, Emmanuel Gyan emerged as the first Nigerian male and Deborah Pam first Nigerian female to reach the finishing line.

L-R: Winners of the Male category, 2nd Prize – Debeko Dakamo from Ethopia; 1st Prize – David Bamasai Tumo from Kenya and the 3rd Prize – Paul Waweru Chege from Kenya during the Lagos City Marathon, at Eko Atlantic City, Victoria Island, on Saturday, February 8, 2020
L-R: Secretary to the State Government, Mrs. Folashade Jaji with the winners of the female category, 2nd Prize – Kebene Chala urisa from Ethopia; 1st Prize -Cherop Sharon Jemutai and 3rd Prize – Rodah Jepkorir Tanui, both from Kenya 
L-R: Group Managing Director of Access Bank Plc, Mr. Herbert Wigwe; Lagos Sate Governor, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu; Chief of Army Staff, Nigerian Army, Lt. Gen. Tukur Buratai and General Officer Commanding 81 Division, Lagos, Major-General Johnson Irefin 
 L-R: Director General, Lagos State Sport Commission (LSSC), Mr. Oluwatoyin Bolowotan; Chairman of LSSC, Mr. Sola Aiyepeku; Lagos Sate Governor, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu and Lagos City Marathon Project Consultant, Mr. Bukola Olopade 

Please follow and like us:

Current track



%d bloggers like this: